Friday, June 22, 2012

Chicken Little DVD Collection Review...

SRP: $24.95
"Following the first two installments in the MY FIRST COLLECTION DVD series from Scholastic Storybook Treasures™ – which captured acclaim and awards such as the prestigious Parents’ Choice Gold, the Creative Child Magazine 2011 DVD of the Year, a NAPPA Gold and The Oppenheim Toy Portfolio Platinum Award – comes another DVD set sure to thrill preschoolers and their families alike: MY FIRST COLLECTION, VOLUME 3 FEATURING CHICKEN LITTLE. Featuring 12 delightful stories on three discs, the set includes three new stories never before released on DVD: “Chicken Little”, the perennial classic from the award-winning father and daughter team, Rebecca Emberley and Ed Emberley; “Scaredy Squirrel”, an hilarious adaption of Mélanie Watt’s first book in the five-book “Scaredy Squirrel” series and, “Katie Loves the Kittens”, about a puppy thrilled to have three kitten playmates. The three DVDs in MY FIRST COLLECTION VOLUME 3 – part of the line that supports early literacy skills for the pre- and early reader – also sports Scholastic’s innovative read-along function and features narrators such as Sean Hayes, John Lithgow and Randy Travis. The discs are as follows: Children will delight as a crazy-eyed chicken and all his panicked friends try to run away from a falling sky in CHICKEN LITTLE…AND MORE ZANY ANIMAL STORIES. The lead story, from Rebecca Emberley and Ed Emberley, is a bold and colorful retelling of the beloved tale; it’s joined by three additional adaptations, all colorful and comical, including “The Great White Man Eating Shark”, “The Three-Legged Cat” and “Dooby Dooby Moo”, along with a bonus interview with the Caldecott-winning Emberleys!

 In the lead story on KATIE LOVES THE KITTENS…AND MORE FUNNY STORIES, little dog Katie is so excited when Sara Ann brings home three little kittens that she can’t stop herself from howling and trying to run after them. Don’t they know she just wants to play in John Himmelman’s adorable story? Also featured on a single DVD are three more animated adaptations, including Mélanie Watt’s never-before-released “Scaredy Squirrel” (also seen on Cartoon Network), “The Cow Who Fell in a Canal” and “Roberto the Insect Architect”. Bonus programming also features interviews with authors Mélanie Watt and John Himmelman, too! Finally, young children will roar with laughter at Jules Pfeiffer’s “Bark, George”, a very silly story about a mother dog trying to teach her pup to bark.

 BARK GEORGE…AND MORE DOGGIE TALES includes four “tails” on DVD, all featuring adorable doggies! Aside from the title tale, included are “No Roses for Harry”, “Angus and the Ducks”, “Dot the Fire Dog” and a bonus story by Ezra Jack Keats, “Whistle for Willie”! Aside from being part of the MY FIRST COLLECTION VOLUME 3 set, each of the single DVDs will also be available individually for $12.95srp.

 For more information on this title or any other Scholastic Storybook Treasures release, visit Also, visit New Kideo, the online home for the DVD line, at their Facebook page"

What we thought:  Another fantastic collection from Scholastic Storybook Treasures!  A and D love watching these DVDs and thanks to the words at the bottom of the screen, they are both reading along with the stories.  These classic tales include some of our favorites and are a lot of fun to watch.  What a great collection for those summer afternoons when it's too hot to play outside!  ABCD Diaries gives the Chicken Little DVD collection an A+!

Disclosure:  ABCD Diaries was given samples  for review purposes only. We were in no other way compensated. The opinions expressed in this post are ours and ours alone.

1 comment:

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.